Montre Suisse

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player


SEIKO wins the prestigious Sports Watch of 2010 award at the Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Genève


Posted by:


On November 18, at the Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Genève 2010, the SEIKO Spring Drive Spacewalk Commemorative Edition was named the Sports Watch of the Year. This accolade is the most prestigious yet awarded to SEIKO’s unique and world-leading Spring Drive technology and SEIKO is greatly honored to be the recipient of the “Grand Prix”.
The award-winning Spring Drive Spacewalk watch

The awards, now in their 10th year, are globally agreed to be the Oscars of the industry are widely acknowledged as the most prestigious awards in the watch world. The awards are made by a distinguished panel of expert judges who select from literally hundreds of watches submitted each year. The awards are particularly important as they are awarded only to those pieces that demonstrate the very highest level of watchmaking skill. More than any other, these awards are made by watchmaking experts to watchmaking experts.

In accepting the award on behalf of the President & CEO of SEIKO WATCH CORPORATION, Mr. Shinji Hattori, Shu Yoshino, General Manager of the Public Relations & Advertising Dept. described the watch:

“This is the only watch in the world designed from scratch to be worn during a spacewalk. It is a watch that brings mankind a step closer to the stars as its hands glide across the dial, plotting time with no ‘tick’, in perfect harmony with the eternal motion of the planets. I thank you sincerely for this award which will be the pride of the entire SEIKO family.”
Shu Yoshino accepted the award on behalf of SEIKO WATCH CORPORATION

Along with the winners in all the other categories, the SEIKO Spring Drive Spacewalk watch will be displayed to the public at the Salon Belles Montres from November 26 to 28 in Paris.

This is the second occasion on which SEIKO has had the honor to win the Grand Prix d’Horlogerie. In 2006, SEIKO’s first generation of E-Ink watch won the prize as the Electronic watch of the year.